Kassidy–Remembering My Death-Row Dog

 

Kassidy (AKA Marie T.) was a gentle, fragile soul who lost her fight with cancer a few days ago.  Please see the moving and tender tribute to Kassidy below, from her devoted foster mom Sharron Daniel (and foster sister Katie).

Bob,

Kassidy, with a special treat

First I want to thank you for letting me be a part of Kassidy’s life, to have that chance to love her and receive the same from her in return.  She was my beautiful girl.  I miss her terribly and so does Katie.

As you know she started going downhill fast early last week and by Thursday she was suffering and I had to make the choice to help her cross the rainbow bridge.  We had eight wonderful months together and I don’t regret one day of that time including the craters that still exist in my back lawn!

I’ll never forget the day after she came to live with me when we were off to Adobe to have them re-check her ears.  She ran from the leash and tried to break back into the house as if begging “no more”.  I believe in my heart that was her way of telling me this was now home and she was tired of being tossed from place to place.  It took some time, but she eventually learned to love the leash knowing that instead of fear and disappointment it now meant a new adventure.

As she settled into the routine, she started making the rules.  Each morning after breakfast, she would scratch at the door to go out; however out isn’t what she wanted.  It was all a ruse to get me in the kitchen and then she’d start the cookie dance.  She loved her treats and she was going to ensure that she and her sister got what they deserved.  That became her job and she was darn good at it.

That last morning I wasn’t sure she would be here for me when I returned home.  I turned to the girls, said my normal, “you be good girls, I love you and I’ll see you tonight.”  It’s what I said every time I left the house without them, but I knew this time may be different, that she just might not be there waiting for my return.  Kass mustered her strength to come sit on the step next to Katie in her normal everyday spot.  She knew that’s what I needed, that snapshot in time for me to remember of my girls sitting and waiting for me.

I returned home that afternoon where I was fortunate to have my time to say goodbye.  We sat outside together.  She could no longer hear, see or smell me, but she knew I was there.  At 4:00 it was time to go and for the first time she calmly laid in the back seat of the much hated car.  A short time later, when I said my final goodbye, I told her she was a success.   She may have started our journey as a death row dog, but she left this world in my arms and knowing she was loved, and after all, that’s what it’s all about.

I have a sign hanging in my family room.  It says, “Heaven’s the place where all the dogs you’ve ever loved come to greet you.”  It gives me faith that we will be together again some day.  Until then, sweet girl.

Sharron

Posted on September 19, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Sharron, Thank you for showing the obvious devotion you had for Kassidy. Meeting both of you at the Vasona bbq was so heartwarming. Your love for each other was evident. Your thoughtfulness served Kassidy well. Take care Ann and Stella

  2. What a beautiful and touching tribute to Kassidy.

  3. Just beautiful…cannot see through tears

Leave a Reply

